St John’s Vision Day and “Praying for Growth”

On 1st June we had a Vision Day at St John’s Church, led by Steve Cox who is the Local Mission Adviser from the Diocesan Parish Development and Evangelism Team.
Although St John’s has grown 10% in the 2012 and a further 13% in the year 2013, growth was high on the agenda for those who attended, who feel that the congregation that does not include people of all ages and hence we feel we are not fulfilling our calling to be inclusive to everyone. At the Vision Day families, children and young people were highest on our list of people we would like to serve better, however we felt that there may be that there are others that we are not including too.
We discussed that it may be that the 9:30am service needs to change, or perhaps 9:30am on a Sunday is not a great time for families and a new service needs to start.
We decided that we need to listen to folks to hear what they think of our church and indeed church in general, and also we decided that we needed to pray. If you would like to comment on how we can make church more accessible to all then please email me – revdlesley@gmail.com. Also if you would like to join us to pray please come along – these are the future dates, we meet at St John’s:
Thu 24 Jul 2014 20:00 – 21:00
Wed 13 Aug 2014 15:30 – 16:30
Thu 28 Aug 2014 20:00 – 21:00
Wed 10 Sep 2014 15:30 – 16:30
Thu 25 Sep 2014 20:00 – 21:00
Wed 8 Oct 2014 15:30 – 16:30
Thu 23 Oct 2014 20:00 – 21:00
Wed 12 Nov 2014 15:30 – 16:30
Thu 27 Nov 2014 20:00 – 21:00
Wed 10 Dec 2014 15:30 – 16:30

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s